The Al-Khalifa Business School Advisory Board, chaired by Prof. Sir Manuel Freire-Garabal y Núñez, is responsible for advising on overseeing strategic moves, financial decisions, budgets and end-of-year accounts and for appointing the Dean.

Today, the AKBS Advisory Board is composed of 22 internationally recognized institutions and business leaders from a wide range of industry sectors. 

Board Committees, appointed by and reporting to the Chairman, are also involving representatives of AKBS management and external experts, deal with more specific issues like the Management and Finance Advisors, the Dean´s Office and the Fellowship Committees.

Prof. Dr. Sir Igor Olegovich Eleferenko

Dean at Al-Khalifa Business School

Russian Federation

Prof. Olga Mroz HonDArts 

Director of AKBS Open World at Al-Khalifa Business School


Lansana Kouyaté

 Former Assistant Secretary-General at United Nations and Former Prime Minister at Guinea


Dr. Vivek Lall

Chief Executive at General Atomics Global Corporation

United States of America

Sir Massimo Falcioni

CEO at Etihad Credit Insurance

United Arab Emirates 

Afaf Konja

Former Spokesperson at United Nations

United States of America

Hon. Nixon Duban

 Former Minister of Police, Transport-Infrastructure and  Petroleum-Energy at Papua New Guinea

Papua New Guinea 

Sheikh Ahmed El Haiba 

Chairman at Investment Gate

Kingdom of Morocco

Prof. Sir Anthony Ritossa HonDBA, FRSA

Chairman at The Ritossa Family Office

United Arab Emirates 

Sayed Hadi Al Alawi FRSA

Chairman at Al Hayat Group

Kingdom of Bahrain

Mohamed Al Ali 

CEO at Sheikh Ahmad Bin Obaid Al Maktoum International Investment Enterprises 

United Arab Emirates 

Reza Radmand DMD, FAAOM 

Research Collaborator at Harvard Medical School

United States of America

Sir Sergey Pecheliev 

Vice-Rector at University of International Relations at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Russia (MGIMO)

Russian Federation

Prof. Dr. Luka Powanga

Professor at Regis University, Anderson College of Business

United States of America

Prof. Dr. Jagannath Patnaik

Vice-Chancellor at ICFAI University


Alan Coxon

President at International Taste Institute

United Kingdom

Ali G. Asiri

General Manager at Directorates Merging Project of National Water Company

Kingdom of Saudi Arabia

Dr. Hari Eppanapally

Vice-President at The Bank of New York Mellon

United States of America

Honorary Advisors

H.H. Mahmoud Salah Al Din Assaf 
Royal Patron of Al-Khalifa Business School


Amb. Sir Luis Suárez Hernández HonD

President at Suarez Museum of Natural Science & History

United States of America

H.M. Togbe Osei III

Traditional ruler of Godenu 


Former Relevant Members: Academic Year 2019-2020

Amb. Dr. Paulette Bethel  – Bahamas Diplomat and Former United Nations Permanent Ambassador (Bahamas)